“Opening Ceremony” the brand you can’t help falling in love

2 Aug

How many of you have watched the “Opening Ceremony “of the 2012 London Olympics last week? I am sure most of you have, and certainly by millions throughout every nook and corner of this planet.  As spectacular as it is, yet the one that my mind is set on and about which I am going to write is a very different but equally spectacular “Opening Ceremony” and “Olympics”. In this “opening ceremony” and the “Olympics”, I am a very active participant and for which, I have been preparing since 2008.

This “Opening Ceremony” that I am referring to is the company that I work for. It was started by Carol Lim & Humberto leon in 2002. I joined “Opening Ceremony” in the year 2008, the year when China held its Olympics. At that time, our team was only around thirty people.  But today, we are almost 145 and growing without end in sight. We have Opening Ceremony retail store in N.Y, L.A, Japan  and the newest expansion being our first store in London which opened last month. “Avant-garde New York store Opening Ceremony, loved by A-listers from Alexa Chung to Rihanna, lands in London today and it’s got fashion fanatics in a frenzy, says Josh Sims .” are the lines from an article in the London Evening Standard paper. http://www.standard.co.uk/lifestyle/esmagazine/cult-collections-why-everyone-is-talking-about-the-other-opening-ceremony-7959349.html

It’s been only four years since I started working for Opening Ceremony and during these years, I have learned a lot of things that extends way beyond sports. Following are the gold-medal winning lessons that I have learned that contributed towards my preparation for the Olympics of my life.

Photo From Intermission Magazine, March/April 2010

Lesson 1:Leadership

The key to success of any team depends on its leader. And I was fortunate to have not one but two great leaders under whose guidance; I learnt everything there is about Friendship, family, food, fun and fashion and above all, how to run a business successfully.  Abraham Lincoln once said,” Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.”   Having had the opportunity to work closely with Carol lim, I can say with confidence that there is no better way to express why I hold her in high esteem and look up to her as my mentor in every aspect of my life.

Carol & Me – at O.C Holiday party in 2011

Lesson 2: When the going gets tough, the tough gets going..

The pace at which the company grew and at a time when the entire nation was steeped in recession was a mind blowing experience. Of course, the recipe for this phenomenal growth is not just a mere luck! It is due to the tenacity, dedication, commitment and hard work from every single team member. At times, we felt like we were sinking in a pool of work that was 9ft. deep. Yet, we managed to keep our heads above the water and swim, wearing smile even when the wave hits hard on you.

Lesson 3:  Staying ahead of the game.

I am sure many of you must have heard this proverb “It’s not about how hard you work, it’s about how smart you work”. Opening Ceremony has proven over and over, how a well-organized unit led by a visionary leader can succeed during trying times and that is why we are where we are today.  If it weren’t for Opening Ceremony, you and I wouldn’t be dancing in our havaianas flip-flop in the summer. Opening Ceremony was the first store to introduce this brand to the U.S

That’s me in my fav OC top & Havainna flip flop

Lesson 4: Unity in Diversity

Opening Ceremony is truly a company that represents not only the spirit of the Olympics in sportsmanship but also in diversity. You name it and we have almost all the nationalities working in our company. Besides that every year, it introduces both emerging and established brands/ designers from   a new country to its home team (U.S.A).  As I mentioned earlier, we are one step ahead of even the real Olympics where my country Tibet has not made its debut yet. We have already started this trend which hopefully and eventually the whole world would follow.

At the O.C HQ office balcony in my Tibetan dress & O.C Ankle boots

http://www.openingceremony.us/entry.asp?pid=5202

 Lesson 5: Impossible is the word found only in dictionary.

If there is one place that convinces me of everything possible, it is  Opening Ceremony. Here the impossible is possible and everything seems so effortless. Whether it is the opening of a new store, a last-minute preparation for the FNO event, renovation of an existing store or even launching of a new collection in matter of weeks or months, they are all done promptly with flair and fun.

For someone like me, who was least interested in fashion and didn’t care much about fashion world, has now become a die-hard fan of Opening Ceremony. It is the brand that opened me to the glamour and glittery of the Fashion industry that was a world I would accidentally get a glimpse of when flipping through Vogue magazine occasionally. Opening Ceremony is the brand that will always have a special place in my closet.

So, what are you guys waiting for? Join the fun  and make sure you have your piece of Opening Ceremony in your closet. There is no better time to shop for it then NOW…   We are having  Last Summer Sale where everything is up to 70% off. You can shop at the comfort of your home  on   http://www.openingceremony.us 

 

I already dived into the sale and picked up a O.C Mesh Polo top and a basketball keychain for someone somewhere…

Gift I picked up at the OC Sale.

Leave a Reply

